Introduction to workplace in Mtwara - Reisverslag uit Mtwara, Tanzania van Epco Maat - WaarBenJij.nu Introduction to workplace in Mtwara - Reisverslag uit Mtwara, Tanzania van Epco Maat - WaarBenJij.nu

Introduction to workplace in Mtwara

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Epco

15 December 2017 | Tanzania, Mtwara

After welcome party in Mtwara on Thursday the 14th of December, we could finally get to work the next day, Eirini was picked up in the early morning to go to Lindi and to Nyangao, where her Hospital placement is.
After my second breakfast, me and Maria (another volunteer which is working on the same project) were transported to the VETA school in Mtwara. The school is located at a beautiful place close to the sea. VETA stands for Vocational Education Training Authority. The school gives technical training in different trades like carpentry, masonry and food production. Students are dropouts of the regularly school system (primary and secondary school) We (the newly arrived volunteers, national and international) got a tour around the school, we did see the workshops which were already empty because of the school holiday and the other buildings. We took lunch in the school cafeteria, this took quite some time but we had some nice food. In the afternoon we had a meeting with the principal of the VETA school in Mtwara. He emphasised that our presence is very much apricated. I got some more information about what my assignment is all about and more information about the website I will promote (www.kaziconnect.co.tz) to connect graduates of VETA to employers (and get them internships and jobs)
In the evening I had a get together with some of the other volunteers at the Southern Cross restaurant (very nice place near the sea)
On Saturday morning I woke up in my city for the next four months. I decided to explore the city and have a nice morning run. This helped me to get a better overview where I was, where VETA is and where my hotel is. In the afternoon, I went to Nyangao.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Tanzania, Mtwara

Epco

Since December 2017, I am in Tanzania for volunteerwork

Actief sinds 10 Jan. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 115
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5051

Voorgaande reizen:

03 December 2017 - 30 April 2018

Working in Tanzania

Landen bezocht: