Visiting Nyangao - Reisverslag uit Nyangao, Tanzania van Epco Maat - WaarBenJij.nu Visiting Nyangao - Reisverslag uit Nyangao, Tanzania van Epco Maat - WaarBenJij.nu

Visiting Nyangao

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Epco

16 December 2017 | Tanzania, Nyangao

Saterday afternoon the 16th of December I moved to the bus station where we discovered what bus to take to get to Nyangao (the place where Eirini started working) It turned out to be the bus to Massasi, a place further west (Ezborn, a national volunteer, who started together with me, helped me find it) The bus fare was 4.500 shilling and I had a nice seat. After the bus left the bus station, I discovered there were many formal and informal bus stops where additional passengers could board. As we got closer to the main road to Lindi, the bus got more occupied. It was great to see how helpful the personnel of the bus is to help people on board, ensure their luggage is securely placed and look for an available seating place. The bus was not going very fast which made the trip quite comfortable. I could easily start reading my book. As I was the only wazungu (white man) on the bus, I got some attention, but mostly I was accepted as a fellow passenger.
After 70 km along the cost, roughly 20 km before Lindi, the bus makes a sharp turn to the west and goes land inwards. To ensure I am getting out at the correct stop, I use my offline map (Galileo) to identify where I am.
Once arrived in Nyangao I was amazed how much different this town looks compared to Mtwara. It is a really small village which looks like a big open market along the main road. Using my map, I coul locate the hospital and the accommodation where Eirini stays which is just a few hundred meters from the main road.
It was very nice to see each other again, especially since Eirini had a difficult first two days in the hospital, no introduction and very confronting situations in the hospital, where she immediately started working as a paediatrician in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)


The house which would be the home of Eirini for the next three months is very nicely decorated, it is built at the same time as the hospital and has even continental power sockets (probably because it is built by German)
I also met Janet, a Dutch nurse which is doing her final internship of her education in Nyangao hospital. During the week, a maid (Mwana) cleans the house for Janet and Eirini, and cooks for them. But as it was weekend, we had to make or get our own food. Eirini and me had a romantic dinner under the stars at a very local restaurant, we ate chips-mayaye (which means an omelette with chips baked inside)

During dinner we exchanged our first experiences in our workplaces. After dinner, we were invited to the house of the financial director of the hospital Mr Runge to celebrate the birthday of Janet that day. The other guests (beside us and Janet) were Inge and Pim, two Dutch doctors who work for over two years in the Nyangao hospital. Two years ago, their son was born here and he speaks now more Swahili then Dutch because he is being looked after by a local maid. We heard the experiences of the other wazungus and enjoyed the nice beverages, chips and even Swiss chocolate!
The next morning at eight Eirini and I were invited by the supervisor of Eirini to join the hospital Church. We were amazed by so many colourful nice dresses, the enthusiastic speech of the wazungu pastor (who preached in fluent Swahili) and the very nice songs.
At the end of the service, we went to the hospital as Eirini wanted to see how the babies in NICU are doing and do a ward round. I accompanied her and did see with how much passion and patience she cares about the patients and their mums. As it was very hot in the NICU, I was amazed how she and the nurses could work in these conditions.
In the afternoon we prepared our trip to Zanzibar and Kilimanjaro.
On Monday and Tuesday, I stayed in Nyangao and worked from the house of Eirini as the VETA school in Mtwara was almost empty because of the summer holidays. Mwana made pancakes for Lunch while I tried to figure out what was agreed about the Kazi Connect website. I had some constructive email conversations with other volunteers in Lindi.
On Tuesday afternoon the 19th of December, we took the local (or Daladala) bus to Mtwara to prepare for our vacation.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Tanzania, Nyangao

Epco

Since December 2017, I am in Tanzania for volunteerwork

Actief sinds 10 Jan. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 319
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5048

Voorgaande reizen:

03 December 2017 - 30 April 2018

Working in Tanzania

Landen bezocht: